This is the last call for stand-up comedians, comedic content creators and ad agencies to enter The 11th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards. It’s the biggest accolade that a South African funny person can win!

Entries close on 12 December 2023, so if you think you’ve got the goods to walk away with a Waldo (the name of the awards’ statuette) and claim a R5,000 cash prize, then enter now at

The Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards honours those who’ve made their mark on the comedy scene over the last year, from newcomers to icons, from comedic writers to comedy promoters and the agencies that produce the funniest ads in SA. Think of them as the Oscars, but for those brave souls who chose punchlines over poignant pauses.

“The awards celebrate the heartbeat of South African comedy. This is not just a ceremony; it’s a tribute to talented minds and the craft of comedy and it’s an event that ensures our country’s comedy scene is recognised as globally competitive, healthy and thriving. We bring the entire industry together to celebrate their peers, and we want everyone else to celebrate them too.”

comments Manuela Dias de Deus, Executive Producer of the Awards

Over the years, heavyweights such as Trevor Noah, Loyiso Gola, Tumi Morake, Skhumba Hlophe, Celeste Ntuli, Schalk Bezuidenhout and more have taken home an award for their significant contribution to South African comedy. Last year, Robby Collins took home top honours, including the coveted Comedian of the Year Award and Wazi M Kunene scooped the Savanna Newcomer Award.

Here are the 12 accolades that honour excellence and sheer comedic genius:


  • Savanna Newcomer Award (Entries for this category have already closed)
  • Breakthrough Act of the Year Award
  • Headliner of the Year Award
  • Comedian of the Year Award
  • Best Solo Show Award
  • Best Comedy Festival/Show Award
  • The Joe Mafela Award
  • The Hall of Fame Award
  • Best Comedic Writer Award
Robby Collins


  • UpLIFTing Comedic Content Award
  • Sauce of the Year Award
  • Funny Is Funny Award

A Night Of Celebration:  

The winners will be announced at the main awards event on 13 April 2024 in Johannesburg. Tickets to the awards go on sale soon, pre-register to be the first to know all the details:

Keep your eyes on the event’s social media platforms for updates and exciting competitions.