The laughter returns with a resounding encore as entries officially open for the 11th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards. The stage is set to honour those who’ve made their mark on the comedy landscape over the last year, including stand-up comedians, comedic writers, comedic content creators, comedy festivals and the ad agencies that produce the funniest ads in SA.

With a legacy of over a decade, the Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards is a pivotal platform in the SA comedy industry, celebrated for recognising and honouring the comedic talents that have given the nation endless moments of joy and laughter. Established to bolster the comedy sector, the awards endeavour to ensure the SA comedy scene is robust and globally competitive.

Over the years, heavyweights such as Trevor Noah, Loyiso Gola, Tumi Morake, Skhumba Hlophe, Celeste Ntuli, Schalk Bezuidenhout and more have taken home an award for their significant contribution to South African comedy. Last year, Robby Collins took home top honours, including the coveted Comedian of the Year Award and Wazi M Kunene scooped the Savanna Newcomer Award.

Long-time partner to the awards – and comedy in general – Savanna Premium Cider is back as the title sponsor.

“We love participating in this laughter-infused journey, as we collectively work to elevate our comedy stars to the international stage where they rightly belong, and to support emerging talent from the ground up”.

says Kayla Hendricks, Savanna Senior Brand Manger

Savanna‘s commitment to growing comedy is integrated into the awards in many ways, notably the successful Savanna Newcomer Showcase, which profiles up-and-coming comedians. This year, in addition to a significantly, remodelled and gorgeous trophy, the brand will also give each of the winners R5,000 in cash as a monetary high-five!

Here are the 12 accolades that honour excellence and sheer comedic genius:  


  • Savanna Newcomer Award
  • Breakthrough Act of the Year Award
  • Headliner of the Year Award
  • Comedian of the Year Award
  • Best Solo Show Award
  • Best Comedy Festival/Show Award
  • The Joe Mafela Award
  • The Hall of Fame Award
  • Best Comedic Writer Award


  • UpLIFTing Comedic Content Award, Presented by LIFT
  • Sauce of the Year Award
  • Funny Is Funny Award

Enter now at Entries close for the Savanna Newcomer Award only on Thursday 9 November. Entries close for all other categories on 12 December 2023.  

Once entries are in, comedians review and nominate their peers. Four of the 12 categories will open for public voting after the nominee announcement in February 2024.

The winners will be announced at the main awards event in April in Johannesburg. Picture the glitz and glamour of the Oscars, but replace the poignant pauses with infectious laughter, because that’s what these awards are all about.  Tickets to the awards go on sale soon, pre-register to be the first to know all the details:

Keep your eyes on the event’s social media platforms for updates and for exciting competitions.